Louisiana Legislature Toughens Rules For Teen Drivers
Louisiana’s first-time drivers will now be legally required to undergo more classroom and behind-the-wheel training. State lawmakers passed this legislation last session with little opposition.
The new rules require 30 hours of classroom instruction and eight hours of behind-the-wheel instruction for 16-year-olds and 17-year-olds. In addition, 18-year-olds must undertake six hours of classroom instruction and eight hours of behind-the-wheel training. Lawmakers believe the legislation will make roads safer and lower insurance rates across the state.
Car accidents continue to be the leading cause of death among teenagers in the United States. Last year, car accidents claimed the lives of almost 6,000 teens. Statistics show that teens are more likely to speed, use cell phones and succumb to distractions inside and outside the vehicle.
If you or a loved one suffered an injury in a motor vehicle accident, an experienced attorney can protect your legal rights. For questions, contact Broussard & David, at 888-337-2323 (toll-free) or 337-337-2323 (local).